The Fall of Troy

Author(s): Quintus Smyrnaeus


Quintus was a poet who lived at Smyrna some four hundred years after Christ. His work, in fourteen books, is a bold and generally underrated attempt in Homer's style to complete the story of Troy from the point at which the "Iliad" closes. Quintus tells us the stories of Penthesilea, the Amazonian queen; Memnon, leader of the Ethiopians; the death of Achilles; the contest for Achilles' arms between Ajax and Odysseus; the arrival of Philoctetes; and the making of the Wooden Horse. The poem ends with the departure of the Greeks and the great storm which by the wrath of heaven shattered their fleet.


Available Stock:

Add to Wishlist

Product Information

General Fields

  • : 9780674990227
  • : Harvard University Press
  • : LOEB
  • : 170mm X 110mm X 33mm
  • : United States
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : 883.01
  • : 639
  • : Quintus Smyrnaeus
  • : Hardback