Mark Hampton: An American Decorator

Author(s): Duane Hampton

Interiors

A celebration of the career of the late interior designer Mark Hampton (1940-1998), whom the New York Times called "an icon of American Style."

In the tradition of Albert Hadley and David Hicks, this is a comprehensive look at the career of the late Mark Hampton, one of the most famous and admired American interior designers of the twentieth century. A classic American success story, Hampton grew up in small-town Indiana and went on to worldwide fame. He began his career working for some of the greatest interior designers of the age: Mrs. Henry Parish II, David Hicks, and McMillen, Inc. He later went on to design for such clients as Brooke Astor, Estee Lauder, Jacqueline Onassis, and the Henry Kissingers, in addition to his work on the White House, Camp David, the Metropolitan Museum of Art, the National Gallery of Art, and the American Academy in Rome. Known for the tremendous depth and breadth of his knowledge, Hampton refused to be pigeonholed into a trademark style, moving effortlessly from sleek modernism to English country and back again. A highly popular lecturer who drew crowds, Hampton was also the author of two books, as well as a designer of both furniture and fabrics.

Rich with original materials including Hampton's watercolors, sketches, and notebooks, as well as hundreds of images of Hampton's important commissions, and impeccably researched and intimately written by his widow, Duane Hampton, this will be a visual feast for everyone interested in interiors as well as an important addition to the history of interior design.

$115.00(AUD)

Available Stock:
0


Add to Wishlist


Product Information

Duane Hampton is the widow of the late Mark Hampton and a writer and editor in the field of interior decoration. She is the author of The Art of Friendship, a compilation of Mark Hampton's watercolors

General Fields

  • : 9780847832880
  • : Rizzoli International Publications, Incorporated
  • : Rizzoli International Publications, Incorporated
  • : April 2010
  • : 305mm X 229mm X 33mm
  • : United States
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Duane Hampton
  • : Hardback
  • : English
  • : 747.092
  • : 256
  • : 300 Colour and Black and White