Where I'm Calling from: New and Selected Stories

Author(s): Raymond Carver


By the time of his early death in 1988, Raymond Carver had established himself as one of the great practitioners of the American short story, a writer who had not only found his own voice but imprinted it in the imaginations of thousands of readers. Where I'm Calling From, his last collection, encompasses classic stories from Cathedral, What We Talk About When We Talk About Love, and earlier Carver volumes, along with seven new works previously unpublished in book form. Together, these 37 stories give us a superb overview of Carver's life work and show us why he was so widely imitated but never equaled.


Available Stock:

Order this Item

Add to Wishlist

Product Information

Raymond Carver was born in Clatskanie, Oregon, in 1938. His first collection of stories, Will You Please Be Quiet, Please (a National Book Award nominee in 1977), was followed by What We Talk About When We Talk About Love, Cathedral (nominated for the Pulitzer Prize in 1984), and Where I'm Calling From in 1988, when he was inducted into the American Academy of Arts and Letters. He died in August of that year, shortly after completing the poems of A New Path to the Waterfall.

General Fields

  • : 9780679722311
  • : Random House Publishing Group
  • : Vintage Books
  • : 0.388
  • : June 1989
  • : 201mm X 134mm X 24mm
  • : United States
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Raymond Carver
  • : Paperback
  • : Reprinted edition
  • : English
  • : 813.54
  • : 15