Lament for the Fallen

Author(s): Gavin Chait

Sci Fi/Fantasy

'Father, tell me a story?' asks Isaiah, moments before a strange craft falls from the sky and smashes into the jungle near his isolated West African community. Inside the ruined vessel the villagers find the shattered body of a man. His name is Samara and he is a man unlike any the villagers have seen before - a man who is perhaps something more than human. With his city home of Achenia hiding in the rubble left by a devastating war, Samara has fallen 35,000 km to earth in order to escape the automated hell of an orbiting prison called Tartarus. As he struggles to heal himself, he helps transform the lives of those who rescued him but in so doing attracts the attention of the brutal warlord who rules over this benighted, ravaged post-21st century land. He is not a man to be crossed, and now he threatens the very existence of the villagers themselves and the one, slim chance Samara has of finding his way home and to the woman - and the world - he loves. And all the while - in the darkness above - waits the simmering fury that lies at the heart of Tartarus...

$33.00(AUD) RRP $32.99(AUD)

Available Stock:
0


Add to Wishlist


Product Information

Perfect for fans of David Mitchell, Michel Faber and J G Ballard, this darkly compelling literary debut tells a thrilling story that is shot through with hope and a transcendent sense of wonder.

Born in Cape Town in 1974, Gavin Chait emigrated to the UK eight years ago. He has degrees in Microbiology Biochemistry, and Electrical Engineering. He is an economic development strategist and data scientist, and has travelled extensively in Africa, Latin America, Europe and Asia and is now based in Oxford. Lament for the Fallen - his first novel - has its origins in a story he attempted to write when he was a science fiction-obsessed twelve year old.

General Fields

  • : 9780857523761
  • : Transworld Publishers Ltd
  • : Doubleday
  • : June 2016
  • : 234mm X 153mm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : August 2016
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : 320
  • : Gavin Chait
  • : Paperback
  • : 816
  • : English
  • : 813