Tears We Cannot Stop: A Sermon to White America

Author(s): Michael Eric Dyson

American

**A New York Times Book Review Editor's Choice****A Best/Most Anticipated Book of 2017 from The Washington Post, Bustle, Men's Journal, The Chicago Reader, StarTribune, and Blavity** One of the most frank and searing discussions on race ... a deeply serious, urgent book, which should take its place in the tradition of Baldwin's The Fire Next Time and King's Why We Can't Wait. The New York Times Book Review "Elegantly written, Tears We Cannot Stop is powerful in several areas: moving personal recollections; profound cultural analysis; and guidance for moral redemption. A work to relish." Toni Morrison "Here s a sermon that s as fierce as it is lucid If you re black, you ll feel a spark of recognition in every paragraph. If you re white, Dyson tells you what you need to know what this white man needed to know, at least. This is a major achievement. I read it and said amen." Stephen King As the country grapples with racist division at a level not seen since the 1960s, one man's voice is heard above the rest. In his New York Times op-ed piece "Death in Black and White," Michael Eric Dyson moved a nation. Isabel Wilkerson called it "an unfiltered Marlboro of black pain" and "crushingly powerful," and Beyonce tweeted about it. Now he continues to speak out in Tears We Cannot Stop a provocative and deeply personal call for change. Dyson argues that if we are to make real racial progress we must face difficult truths, including being honest about how black grievance has been ignored, dismissed, or discounted. Short, emotional, literary, powerful this is the book that all Americans who care about the current and long-burning crisis in race relations will want to read."

$35.00(AUD) RRP $34.99(AUD)

Available Stock:
0

Order this Item


Add to Wishlist


Product Information

MICHAEL ERIC DYSON is one of America s premier public intellectuals. He occupies the distinguished position of University Professor of Sociology at Georgetown University, is a contributing opinion writer for the New York Times, andis a contributing editor of The New Republic and ESPN s The Undefeated. Ebony magazine named him one of the 100 Most Influential African Americans and one of the 150 most powerful blacks in the nation."

General Fields

  • : 9781250135995
  • : St Martin's Press
  • : St Martin's Press
  • : January 2017
  • : 193mm X 137mm X 28mm
  • : United States
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : 305.896073
  • : Michael Eric Dyson
  • : Hardback
  • : 1