Category

Words & Ideas

Millions of words have been spent in our quest to explain men's seemingly never-ending dominance in boardrooms, in parliaments, in the bureaucracy and in almost every workplace. So ... read more

Stop Fixing Women: Why Building Fairer Workplaces is Everybody's Business
$30.00 (AUD) inc GST
Available Stock: 1

The Gift brilliantly argues for the importance of creativity in our increasingly money-driven society. Reaching deep into literature, anthropology and psychology Lewis Hyde's modern masterpiece has at its heart the simple and important idea that a 'gift' can inspire and change our lives.

The Gift: How the Creative Spirit Transforms the World
$25.00 (AUD) inc GST
Available Stock: 1

In the tradition of E. M. Forster's "Aspects of the Novel" and Milan Kundera's "The Art of the Novel," "How Fiction Works" is a scintillating study of the magic of fiction--an analysis of its main elements and a celebration of it... read more

Nophoto
$25.00 (AUD) inc GST
Available Stock: 1

From the groundbreaking author of TheSecond Sex comes a radical argument for ethical responsibility and freedom. In this classic introduction to existentialist thought, French philosopher Simone de Beauvoir sThe Ethics of A... read more

The Ethics of Ambiguity
$25.00 (AUD) inc GST
Available Stock: 1

Reason, long held as the highest human achievement, is under siege. According to Aristotle, the capacity for reason sets us apart from other animals, yet today it has ceased to be a universally... read more

The Edge of Reason: A Rational Skeptic in an Irrational World
$39.95 (AUD) inc GST
Available Stock: 1

According to current thinking, anyone who fails to succeed must have
something wrong with them. The pressure to achieve and be happy is
taking a heavy toll, resulting in a warped view of the self,
disorientation, an... read more

What About Me?
$30.00 (AUD) inc GST
Available Stock: 1

In these days of an aging traditional audience, shrinking attendance, tightened budgets, increased competition, and exponential growth in new types of communication methods, America's house museums need to ... read more

Anarchist's Guide to Historic House Museums
$45.00 (AUD) inc GST
Available Stock: 1

From the best-selling author of Why We Get Fat, a groundbreaking, eye-opening expose that makes the convincing case that sugar is the tobacco of the new millennium: backed by powerful lobbies, entrenched in our lives, and ma... read more

The Case Against Sugar
$65.00 (AUD) inc GST
Available Stock: 1

Walter Lowrie's classic, bestselling translation of Soren Kierkegaard's most important and popular books remains unmatched for its readability and literary quality. Fear and Trembling and The Sickness Unto... read more

Fear and Trembling and the Sickness Unto Death
$28.00 (AUD) inc GST
Available Stock: 1

Annie Dillard has spent a lifetime examining the world around her with eyes wide open, drinking in all things intensely and relentlessly. She conjures currents of magic and wisdom, illuminating the seemingly ordinary moments of a l... read more

The Abundance
$35.00 (AUD) inc GST
Available Stock: 1

How did an American immigrant without a college education go from Venice Beach t-shirt vendor to television's most successful producer? How did a timid pastor's s... read more

Storyteller's Secret: From Ted Speakers to Business Legends, Why Some Ideas Catch on and Others Don't
$30.00 (AUD) inc GST
Available Stock: 1

The Stuff of Thought is an exhilarating work of non-fiction. Surprising, thought-provoking and incredibly enjoyable, there is no other book like it - Steven Pinker will revolutionise the way you ... read more

The Stuff of Thought: : Language as a window into human nature
$25.00 (AUD) inc GST
Available Stock: 1
313 - 324 of 1845 1 2 27 153 154